Syracuse-Area Activist Contacts


This list of active social change groups in the Greater Syracuse area is far from complete. For a more detailed list, see the Stonewall Committee's CNY Community Directory. All area codes are "315."


Peace Council Projects

SYRACUSE PEACE COUNCIL

472-5478, SPC@peacecouncil.net
Bikes 4 Peace
Jessica Maxwell, jessica@peacecouncil.net

Neighbors of the Onondaga Nation
Carol Baum, carol@peacecouncil.net

Peace Outreach
Andy Mager, andy@peacecouncil.net

SPC Press
Paul Pearce, press@peacecouncil.net

SPC Study Group
Carol Baum, carol@peacecouncil.net

SPC TV: The Peoples' 60 Minutes
Paul Pearce, press@peacecouncil.net

Youth Empowerment for Peace


SPC-involved Coalitions

Bill of Rights Defense Campaign
471-2821 Barrie Gewanter, director@cnyclu.org

Caribbean/Latin America Coalition
478-1592 Paul Weichselbaum

Partnership for Onondaga Creek
478-4571 Aggie Lane

SOA Abolitionists
446-2720 Mike Pasquale

Progressive Coalition
472-5478, Andy Mager, andy@peacecouncil.net

Military Alternatives Education Project
472-5478 Jessica Maxwell, jessica@peacecouncil.net


Other Community Organizations

AIDS Community Resources
475-2430 Will Murtaugh

Alliance Network
474-0922 Walt Dixie, waltdixie@aol.com

Alliance of Communities Transforming Syr.
Rev. Craig French 487-1171

Alternatives to Violence Project
585-526-5202 Jill McClellan, mclellan@globalcrossing.net

American Friends Service Committee
475-4822 Chrissie Rizzo, crizzo@afsc.org

American Muslim Council
no telephone, amcsyr@hotmail.com

Atlantic States Legal Foundation
475-1170 Sam Sage, atlantic.states@aslf.org

Beyond Boundaries
478-4571 Aggie Lane

CANOPY
471-4780 Larry Rutledge or 446-5319 Lee Gechas

CNY Chapter NY Civil Liberties Union
471-2821 Barrie Gewanter, director@cnyclu.org

CNY Council on Occupational Safety & Health (CNYCOSH)
471-6187 Jack Quinlan, cnycosh@igc.org

CNY Labor Federation, AFL-CIO
422-3363 Mark Spadafore, mark@cnylabor.org

CNY Labor-Religion Coalition
431-4040 Tim Fay, tfay@nysut.mail.org

Center for Community Alternatives
422-5638 x227 Alan Rosenthal

Citizen Review Board of Syracuse
448-8750 Felicia Davis

Citizens Awareness Network (CAN)
425-0430 Tim Judson, cnycan@rootmedia.org

Citizens Campaign for the Environment
472-1339 Dereth Glance, dglance@citizenscampaign.org

CNY Colombia Support Network & Cajibio Sister Community
478-4571 Ann Tiffany, anntiffany@a-znet.com

Community Animal Project
438-4227, info@communityanimalproject.org

Democracy for America
252-0947 Vicki Trojnor, wdckqn@msn.com

Dunbar Association
476-4269 Sharon Jack Williams

Eastside Neighbors in Partnership
471-7911 Jim Dessauer

Fair Housing Council of CNY
471-0420 Merrilee Witherell

Friends of Dorothy Catholic Worker
471-6853 Michael or Nick, mdesalu1@twcny.rr.com

Gay, Straight and Questioning Youth Group
475-2430 Erin Davies,

Interdenominational Ministerial Alliance
472-5119 Pastor Bryant L. Gerald, Sr.

InterReligious Council of CNY
449-3552 x102 Jim Wiggins, jwiggins@irccny.org

Jail Ministry
424-1877 Bill Cuddy

The Media Unit
478-8648 Walt Shepperd

NAACP
422-6933 Preston Fagan

National Organization for Women, CNY
422-7700 Barbara Kirkpatrick

National Organization for Women, Greater Syracuse Chapter
682-5810 Amy Doherty, amycobe@aol.com

New Environment Association
446-8009 Harry Schwarzlander

NY Public Interest Research Group
476-8381

NYS Division of Human Rights
428-4633 Valerie Woods

Northeast Community Center
472-6343

Onon Co. /Syr. Commission on Human Rts
435-3567 Linda Hall, lindahall@ongov.net

Onondaga Nation Communications Office
492-1922, ononcomm@verizon.net

Pax Christi
476-0048 or 391-4877 Dick Keough

Peace Action of CNY
478-7422 info@peaceactioncny.org

People Against the Death Penalty
476-9634 Bill Cuddy

People for Animal Rights
488-7877 Linda A. DeStefano, linpar@acmgfcu.net

People's Environmental Network of NY
469-5347 Vicki Baker, ennewyork@hotmail.com

Planned Parenthood
475-5540 x223 Betty DeFazio, bdefazio@pprsr.org

ReConsiDer
478-7815 Nicolas Eyle

SEIU 1199 Upstate
424-1743 x126 Court Bonthius, cbonthius@1199.org

Sierra Club
492-4745 Martha Loew, marthaloew@usadatanet.net

Socialist Party
478-0793 Ron Ehrenreich, smashstate@earthlink.net

Southwest Community Center
474-6823 Courtney Ramirez, cramirez@swccsyr.org

Spanish Action League
475-6153 x211 Kathy McRae

Stonewall Committee
476-6226, Bonnie Strunk

Student Environmental Action Coalition
475-9526 Thor Ritz or Jake Eichten (SU)

Student Peace Action Network-SU
443-6098

Syr. Alternative Media Network
425-8806 Tim Brachocki

Syr. Area Domestic Violence Coal.
425-0818 Arethea Brown

Syracuse Community Choir
428-8724 Karen Mihayli

Syracuse Community Radio
426-0850 Paul Melnikow, info@wxxe.org

Syracuse Coop Federal Credit Union
471-1116x213 RonEhrenreich, christinasauve@syrcoopscu.org

Syracuse Cultural Workers
474-1132 x 111 Dik Cool, dik@syrculturalworkers.com

Syracuse Greens
474-7055, syracusegreens@yahoo.com

Syracuse Real Food Coop
472-1385 Joanne Grisanti

Syracuse-La Estancia Hermanamiento (Sister Community)
446-6099 Shirley Novak, shirleynovak@yahoo.com

Syr System Shakers Radical Cheerleaders
422-4924 Kim McCoy, syracuseshakers@riseup.net

SU Social Movements Initiative
443-3822 John Burdick, jsburdic@maxwell.syr.edu

Syracuse United Neighbors
476-7475 Rich Puchalski, sun@sunaction.org

Westcott Community Center
478-8634 Steve Sussman, info@westcottcc.org

Women Transcending Boundaries
446-1694 Betsy Wiggins or 687-3551 Danya Wellmon

Witness for Peace
Nancy Gwin 422-4689

Women's Information Center
478-4636